Sign In Forgot Password

Thinking About God

Upcoming Sessions

1. Wednesday, April 17, 2024 9 Nisan 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall

2. Wednesday, May 1, 2024 23 Nisan 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall

3. Wednesday, May 15, 2024 7 Iyyar 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall

4. Wednesday, May 29, 2024 21 Iyyar 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall

5. Wednesday, June 5, 2024 28 Iyyar 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall

6. Wednesday, June 26, 2024 20 Sivan 5784

1:00 PM - 2:30 PMKTI Social Hall
Past Sessions
Wednesday, April 10, 2024 2 Nisan 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, March 20, 2024 10 Adar II 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, March 6, 2024 26 Adar I 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 19 Adar I 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 5 Adar I 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, January 31, 2024 21 Shevat 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, January 17, 2024 7 Shevat 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, January 3, 2024 22 Tevet 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, December 13, 2023 1 Tevet 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, November 29, 2023 16 Kislev 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, November 15, 2023 2 Kislev 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, November 1, 2023 17 Cheshvan 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, October 18, 2023 3 Cheshvan 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall
Wednesday, October 11, 2023 26 Tishrei 5784 - 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM - KTI Social Hall

Thinking About God

Who—or what—is God? Is God like a person? Does God have a gender? Does God have a special relationship with the Jewish people? Does God intervene in our lives, as individuals and as a nation? Is God good—and, if yes, why does evil persist in the world?

In investigating how Jewish thinkers have approached these and other questions over thousands of years, we will encounter many of the diverse, contradictory, and sophisticated ways to think about God in Jewish tradition. The course is based on a book of the same name by Rabbi Kari H. Tuling.

While you are encouraged to come to as much of the series as possible, each session will stand on its own. All texts will be provided in English.

Wednesdays, 1:00-2:30pm, KTI Social Hall

October 11 and 18: What Does it Mean to Say that God Created the World?

November 1 and 15: How Does Evil Exist in a World with a Good God?

November 29 and December 13: Is God Like a Person?

January 3 and 17: Does God Have a Gender?

January 31 and February 14: What Does it Mean to Declare God is One?

February 28 and March 6: Does God Intervene in Our Lives?

March 20 and April 10: Does God Intervene in History?

April 17 and May 1: What is the Relationship between God and Israel?

May 15 and 29: Is it a Binding Covenant?

June 5 and 26: How Should the Revealed Law be Understood?

RSVP REQUIRED

Register

Login

or

Enter Your details

* Name
Address
* Email
* Phone
Notes
Total $
 
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Mon, April 15 2024 7 Nisan 5784